Story ideas, or how I create.

image

Sometimes I have ideas pop into my head that are born from the ether, sometimes its photos. The stories that pop into my mind are random, violent, sexy, or even slow burns. I have ideas that I’ll never flesh out, some I will.

Other times, I listen to podcasts and they formulate stories for me. I was listening to The Paracast and JC Johnson talking about his recent cases in the American South West. And I was thinking of another story Id written ages ago.

And now I have an idea for a story. Probably not a novel, but its something. The more I write, the more I realize that I love the short story or novelette idea. I can get my idea out, and there is a new market for them in ebooks and anthologies. Because print books are slowly dying, short stories are making a come back.

image

And I like the idea that they are. It is an artform that has lost meaning and practice in America. With our faster paced society, we have less time and short stories are great for that. It fufills the want to read, and it usually doesn’t take much time.

So, back to creation. I think most of my ideas are born from outside of me. The other worlds I’ve seen and experienced. Not fan-fiction, but taking archetypes and finding a twist and making it my own. We are all influenced by the media we ingest and enjoy. Games or books, television shows or movies, all inspire us.

You will never see me writing hack shit. Never. Maybe some bad writing here and there, but never hack.

The other place my ideas come from is me. Emotional states, memories, and things I’ve seen all spur me on to write. Some fiction, some non-fiction.

But at the end of the day? Ideas come from the strangest places.

And I like that.

Leave a Reply

